Manage user permissions

As an organization owner, you can manage user permissions on the Manage Users page of the Redox dashboard. If you aren't an organization owner, you can still view the selected roles and permissions for each user, but you can't modify or delete them.

Users can have basic or elevated permissions.

Basic users can view the organization's endpoints, connections, and log metadata. They can view other users but can't edit or invite users, nor can they view PHI in logs. By default, all new users have basic permissions to start.

When necessary, you can promote basic users to one or both of these elevated permissions: Organization Owner and PHI Access.

  • Users with Organization owner permissions have full administrative privileges and can adjust roles and permissions of other users.
  • Users with PHI access can view production data payloads within the Dashboard that contain PHI.

Elevate a user's permissions

  1. Log in to the dashboard.
  2. On the navigation menu, your username displays at the bottom. Click your username for the user menu to appear.
  3. From the user menu, select the Manage Users option.
    Manage Users option
    Manage Users option
  4. A list of users displays on the page. Click the Edit link in the top right corner of the user list.
    The Edit users link
    The Edit users link
  5. Locate the user that you want to modify.
  6. In the Organization Owner or PHI Permission columns, toggle one or both of the radio buttons to active.
    Toggle user permissions
    Toggle user permissions
  7. In the top right corner of the user list, click the Save Changes button.

Deactivate a user's permissions

  1. Log in to the dashboard.
  2. On the navigation menu, your username displays at the bottom. Click your username for the user menu to appear.
  3. From the user menu, select the Manage Users option.
    Manage Users option
    Manage Users option
  4. A list of users displays on the page. Locate the user that you want to modify.
  5. In the Organization Owner or PHI Permission columns, toggle one or both of the radio buttons to deactivate elevated permissions.
    Deactivate a user permission
    Deactivate a user permission
  6. In the top right corner of the user list, click the Save Changes button.